Did I Tell You I’m Getting a New Dishwasher?

A few weeks ago, our dishwasher stopped working so I called our landlady. She told me someone would call me to set up an appointment to have it looked at. Three to four days go by, and I haven’t heard from anyone, so I decide I’ll call my landlady again the next day to ask what’s up.

Well, the next day, Brandon and I come home from an outing to find a note on our door from the repair company. It says that we’ve missed our appointment several times. The note also said they couldn’t contact me at my phone number. I did have a missed call one morning, but it was one of those calls where the phone just doesn’t ring. And they didn’t leave a message. So I didn’t call back, because I didn’t know who it was. I learned it was them, though, because they left their phone number on the note and it was the same. That’s some stellar trying-to-contact-a-customer right there.

So I call the company to set up a new appointment, and they tell me I already have one set up for the next day. I said “that’s great, that time totally works, but no one told me about it so I could have been gone again.” Whatever. The guy shows up the next day, fixes the dishwasher, and all is hunky dory.

Until it breaks again a week later. So I talk to the landlady again. It’s decided we’ll get a new one since the one we have is old. This was a little less than a week ago.

Today, someone showed up to take the old one out as I was walking out the door for my OB appointment. He told me he had to take it out now because someone from Sears should be showing up within the next two hours with the new one.

THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE TO KNOW.

I know it’s not the end of the world and it’s stupid and petty and a “first world problem,” but I’m pregnant and frustrated and I actually look forward to my OB appointments and I just want to cry hysterically and junk-punch someone. Not exactly rational, but totally how I feel.

(And I realize it’s been a long time since I’ve posted, so there’s been no mention on here of me being pregnant. Surprise!)

UPDATE: The Sears people showed up. The good news is, I have a new dishwasher. The bad news is, our maintenance guy assumed they would install it, but they told me our maintenance guy would have to. So now I get to call the landlady again. Joy!

Leave a comment